Little Mexico, Little Price, Big Taste (Little Mexico Review – Westbury, Long Island)

Cheap, authentic tacos are few and far between on Long Island. There are ‘authentic’ tacos, but they tend to be more of the ‘date night’ variety than the real deal classic street tacos that we prefer here at taco slut. Short rib and mexican crema is great and all, but nine times out of ten we’d prefer a $3 chorizo taco with onions, cilantro and a lime on the side.

Little Mexico on Post Ave. in Westbury does a great job of answering the call for street-style mexican tacos on Long Island. They serve the one thing better than a delicious $3 chorizo taco with onions and cilantro; a delicious $2 chorizo taco with onions, cilantro and a lime on the side.

Right off the bat Little Mexico wins points for price and authenticity. The tacos also happen to be delicious (though two of the three were a little dry for my liking). I ended up getting one carne enchilada, one chorizo and one pollo taco. The menu also features Bistec, Al Pastor and Carnitas. In addition to these standard choices they also serve Lengua and Tacos Campechanos (bistec, chorizo & guacamole), which I didn’t notice on the menu. Had I noticed them, I would have probably got one of each of those.

Guess it looks like I’ll have to go back! 

In the meantime, here are my thoughts on the tacos I did eat:

From Left to Right: Carne Enchilada, Pollo, Chorizo

From Left to Right: Carne Enchilada, Pollo, Chorizo

Carne Enchilada – This was a good starting point as it ended up sitting in the middle of the pack in terms of  favorites. I really enjoyed the seasoning, although the meat itself was just a tad overcooked. I added their red salsa to this taco, which to quote Wu Tang Clan, was “nothing to f*ck wit”. Definitely enough heat there to make this grizzled spice vet sweat. I give this taco 3 out of 5 tortillas.

Chorizo – I usually save the chorizo taco for last, but on a hunch I ate this taco second. It was the right decision, as the chorizo was my least favorite of the bunch. Similar to the carne enchilada, the chorizo was very tasty but a little dry. It was also finely chopped rather than crumbled which is always a few points off for me. Overall this taco was worthy of 3 out of 5 tortillas as well.

Pollo – This was a chicken taco even the doc would love. It tasted as though it was slow-cooked (not sure it actually was though) and had a delicious, almost adobe-esque marinade. I added a little salsa verde to it, but I really didn’t need to. Overall this melt-in-your-mouth chicken taco was the best of the bunch, I give it 4 out of 5 tortillas.

Little Mexico is well worth visiting if you happen to be in the Westbury area as I was. It is great for takeout, but also has a large crowd that comes to sit in the restaurant and share a meal. Next time I go back, its likely I will try the two aforementioned special tacos, but its definite I’ll be grabbing another chicken taco (or three!)

Little Mexico
280 Post Ave.
Westbury, NY 11590

Website: http://littlemexicoli.com/
Menu: http://littlemexicoli.com/our-menu/authentic-mexican-dishes/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LittleMexicoWestbury
Twitter: No Tweets, Just Meats

Love & Guac,

–  TS

About heynardo

Managing Editor - Original Content for bigblueunited.com | Partner at @_24west | Freelance Writer | Maker of Sounds | Taco Aficionado Twitter/Instagram - @HeyNardo Writing Portfolio - richardjnardo.com View all posts by heynardo

One response to “Little Mexico, Little Price, Big Taste (Little Mexico Review – Westbury, Long Island)

Leave a comment